Omar’s Diary 22nd Aug 14

Omar 7 Pillars of Wisdom cropped

That’s me with some light reading

Apologies for the big gap since my last diary entry but life has just been so busy; what with eating and sleeping as us felines are bred to do. I heard the man servant say that for Omar everyday is an ‘EDF’day. That is an acronym for ‘eating, drinking and f#+ting. And how would he know?

Thank goodness the hot humid weather has finished here in the UK for the summer and we rush headlong into autumn after the Bank Holiday this weekend. With it being a lot cooler now I have felt like getting more active to shake off those surplus pounds. The only trouble is, when I want to be active my resident servants do not! What is wrong with chasing twitching toes and feet under the duvet and scragging them at three in the morning? That is my time of day for hyperactivity. After all, I have the rest of the day to rest.

I see the man servant has finished reading ‘Daughter of the Desert’; a biography of Gertrude Bell by Georgina Howell. It has taken him nearly three weeks. Miss Bell was one exceptional lady trekking into places in what we now call the Middle East to places where Europeans had never been before let alone a woman before World War I(WWI).

The knowledge of languages, cultural and tribal rivalries set her up perfectly by accident to serve in The Arab Bureau in 1916 alongside T E Lawrence.  His efforts were concentrated in what is now Saudi Arabia, Jordan and Syria. Gertrude Bell  concentrated on what is now Iraq.

Gertrude Bell

Just an amazing life of achievement crammed into 58 years and so interwoven in the history of the much troubled Middle  East is what my man servant kept saying.

Oh no.  He has just picked another book.  I can’t quite see what the title is but I will let you know as soon as I can see it.

 

 

 

 

About alangrenville

I live in southern Britain near the fabulous New Forest. While studying for a BSc in International Studies I have developed a strong belief in 'NIBAW' or 'nothing is black and white'. Hence my favourite saying "Too often we...enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought" (John F Kennedy).
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

