Omar’s Diary Monday 1st September 2014

Omar 7 Pillars of Wisdom cropped v3

The weekend has come and gone as we are now at the start of autumn of ‘fall’ for the North American readers.

My Monday to Friday routine of twenty three and a half hours sleep per day is broken on Saturdays and Sundays as the servants are around the home more.  They insist on waking me interacting with me.  Just to amuse them I tolerate fluffy stuffed toys that are meant to look like mice, rats and birds or in some cases are just fluffy soft things to bounce around being gently thrown at me in the hope I will react.  They seem to get the most pleasure when I fake disembowelling a stuffed mouse or banana.  Yet, on the rare occasion that I did bring in a real mouse there were no smiles and laughter as I lay on the carpet doing exactly the same thing.  They also laugh and smile when they roll a ball towards me and I pad it back to them.

“Oh look, Omar wants you to play ball with him”.

It comes towards me again.

“Who’s a clever Omar?”.

I am not being clever or playful and say to myself:

“No, I don’t want to play.  That is why I am giving the toy back to its original tosser…..look servants, I have had quite enough interaction with you for one day….. don’t you understand? Just go away and leave me in peace for my half hour of quality awake time”.

My servants cannot listen to me because all I do is ‘meowwww’.  So, I communicate with body language which unfortunately they do not quite understand yet.  Cats rarely get on with dogs because of body language.  A waggy tail with a dog is a saying ‘I am your friend and I want to play’, especially if it’s a chocolate Labrador. I mean, they are just so…..well what other animal would fetch a ball, return it to its tosser and then fetch when it is thrown again all day long?  Apologies for digressing then.  A waggy tail on a cat is the feline equivalent of Agnes Brown saying ‘Feck off’.

Oh well, half hour activity over so I guess it’s time for sleeps again until about three tomorrow morning when I might attack an unsuspecting foot under the duvet. The servants don’t say much but there is a lot of movement of their arms and I just wish I could understand what they are trying to tell me.

 

 

About alangrenville

I live in southern Britain near the fabulous New Forest. While studying for a BSc in International Studies I have developed a strong belief in 'NIBAW' or 'nothing is black and white'. Hence my favourite saying "Too often we...enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought" (John F Kennedy).
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

