Omar’s Diary Wednesday 17th September 2014

Omar for Diary 16th Sept 14

Old red eyes strikes again

This picture really isn’t the most flattering one of me to go into the family album but it is honest; like Oliver Cromwell with his ‘warts and all’ portrait. I do actually get red eyes when I get worked up about anything like toy mice, real mice or any other experience that life happens to throw at me.

I think this picture was taken just after the servants and I had watched a news program. It was dominated by coverage of the Scottish Referendum. That sounds a bit Shakespearian in the same way that a certain one of his plays is referred to as ‘The Scottish Play’. I wonder what they would call it if the YES vote wins? The Scottish Independent Play?

There were continuous questions from the media directed to various representatives of the NO and YES campaigns. Each question was followed by verbally evasive answers that actually left me less intelligent at the end of the program than at the beginning. That is why my eyes were red.

The Chavs continue to come and go freely. They come from next door and are quite content to come across the fence line to be fed by my servants. I would never dream of going to their home expecting to be fed but that is the way it is. In our house the Chavs and I have reached a tacit agreement about territory. I have the upstairs and front of the place downstairs while they have everything else on the basis they allow me free access to the cat flap at the back of the house.

Scottish flag

Whatever agreement we have is not written like the Act of Union of 1707 that bound England and Scotland together was. Our agreement works because we have agreed to get on with each other and share what resources we have for our common good. That common good being that we all act as reminding mechanisms for food from my servants. None of the three of us are vying for power over the other two. None of us are trying to kick the other two out to take over sole residency. And none of us want the servants to leave as they are the ones that hold the place together.

Our arrangement is working. It is not perfect but it is working so why would we want to go to all the effort of creating tensions and sorting out a new arrangement for getting on with each other?

About alangrenville

I live in southern Britain near the fabulous New Forest. While studying for a BSc in International Studies I have developed a strong belief in 'NIBAW' or 'nothing is black and white'. Hence my favourite saying "Too often we...enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought" (John F Kennedy).
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

