Omar’s Diary 5th October 2014

My man servant is back from another week’s travelling but only for the weekend.  Just enough time to get packed for his next week away which I understand to be Glasgow wherever that is?  As far as I know it could be in another country. All I know is that he has to get there by plane on Monday morning so it must be a long way.

I heard him say something about staying in a Travelodge in Woking where he had to leave the window open as far as possible, ie three inches, to keep the room cool.  That worked but the downside was that the street he overlooked was noisier than a pit lane on a grand prix race circuit.  He also mentioned the breakfasts.  They were buffet style with cereals, fruit, juices etc as well as cooked.  Somehow the hotel cooked the bacon so that instead of being presented in neat rasher like form it was compressed into small knaggy complexes of overcooked meat.  No fried eggs but scrambled eggs that bounced around the plate like pellets of polystyrene and often escaped across the table.

One of Woking’s claims to fame is its connection with H G Wells who wrote ‘War of the Worlds’.  This is a sculpture of one of the Martians that landed at Horsell Common. It all seems very alien to me.

photo 1

While he was away I had lots of quality time with the lady servant.  This included cuddles, hugs, treats, a sofa to my self and a chance to try pasta.  I like tagliatelli but was not so keen on the black pepper sauce that it came with.  With the man servant home I might get some fresh fish later today.

Being the temporary man of the house last week I did my best to keep her company and be helpful like sitting on her keyboard but this usually resulted in an eviction from the home office.  I also realised she is scared of spiders and so any I came across were summarily dealt with.  My efforts in this were met with exasperation on her part.  The spiders usually appear at three thirty in the morning and this timing may have been the cause of her exasperation.

About alangrenville

I live in southern Britain near the fabulous New Forest. While studying for a BSc in International Studies I have developed a strong belief in 'NIBAW' or 'nothing is black and white'. Hence my favourite saying "Too often we...enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought" (John F Kennedy).
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

