Omar’s Diary 16th December 2014

Omar for Diary 16th Sept 14

You will be pleased to hear that I am feeling a lot better now than I was on Saturday.  Last week I developed an abscess on my tail caused by Bruiser Feline from next door having a fair old crack at me last week.

I was at the vets this morning for my follow up appointment.  While I was waiting to be seen other clients came over to see me in my carrier in the waiting room.  I do love it when I hear them say ‘how handsome I am’.  Others say ‘isn’t he pretty?’  My man servant is quite protective when I get told that and he corrects the person by making the comment that ‘Omar is a boy and boys are not pretty or beautiful, they are handsome’.  When that is written it can sound quite brusque but he does say it in a kindly way with his usual good humour.  Anyway, my wound is making good progress and the vet shaved my tail where it is to allow it to drain properly.

The lady servant was working from home today which is great.  All I have to do is whine and whinge at regular intervals, look pathetic near my feed bowl and hey presto…..I get fed.  Well most times as the vet did tell the servants that I was a bit on the heavy side weighing in at 6.47 kilos.  Apparently us Tonkinese are meant to be heavy so I really do not know what the issue is.  Also what is fun is to wait until the lady servant is on the phone and then whingeing and whining by the feed bowl.  Always a cause of great stress in her.

Today was especially fun as I made my way n to her desk where I watched her working on the keyboard.  Moving fingers are so tempting and my primeval predator genes kicked in forcing me to chase them like they were prey.  Lady servant got exasperated with her fingers being attacked so I was moved away to a corner of the desk.  There I lay down facing the wall and while pretending to sleep started to flick my tail across the keyboard and her papers. Every time I flicked my tail a small globule of puss shot out of the open wound and landed either on the keyboard, the screen or lady servant’s papers.  Well, the vet did say that the wound should be drained and  I was only following doctor’s orders.

I did get forcibly removed to the bed in the next room where I did settle down to sleep for the rest of the day.  I did flick my tail some more but it is not a much fun when you are not interfering with one of the servants trying to get on with their routine.

By this evening all of this was forgotten and I watched them both wrap some Christmas parcels.  I couldn’t see anything for me unless they are giving me chocolates, Lynx deodorant or athletic knee supports and what use are they to a feline, especially one with my breeding.  I expect they will put my present under the tree on Christmas Eve; I hope.

About alangrenville

I live in southern Britain near the fabulous New Forest. While studying for a BSc in International Studies I have developed a strong belief in 'NIBAW' or 'nothing is black and white'. Hence my favourite saying "Too often we...enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought" (John F Kennedy).
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

