Omar’s Diary 21st December 2014 – 4 sleeps to Christmas

image

Me actually having some peaceful quality time today

Today is Winter Solstice Day in the Northern Hemisphere and was the shortest day of the year.

It did not feel that short to me.

The servants, instead of having their usual Sunday morning lie in of which I am a fully active participant, were up and about early.  Lady servant was downstairs carrying out household duties and when the vacuum cleaner whirred into action like an F15 I retreated upstairs. No peace there either as the man servant was moving furniture in the spare room, scraping and banging away at the floor.  Really I had no choice but to settle in the office only to be disturbed by lady servant who came upstairs to the office and disturbed me AGAIN!

Paddington Bear can sometimes give an angry stare. Us felines do not have this capability  of expression but I certainly tried my hardest to let her know my feelings as I harrumphed away, across the landing and back down to my favourite spot on the sofa.

The man servant continued working in the spare room until about five this afternoon.  I think he got a bit tired as I distinctly heard him utter a mildly rude word as he caught one of his fingers on a nail in the floor he had not removed while scrubbing the floorboards.  Lucky it was only a minor cut as the waiting times at our A&E or ER departments in the USA are getting to be over four hours now. That would have been a really fun evening for the servants if he had needed stitches.  Not like being an injured feline when we can be seen by a vet almost immediately.

What has made today very tolerable is that while both the servants have been working around the house they have had the radio on a lot.

This morning started with one of four in a series of lectures called The Reith Lectures run by the BBC every year about this time.  This year’s lectures are given by Dr Atul Gawandi. They cover different aspects of medicine in our modern world in a way that is both conversational and inspiring.

Try and listen to them over the Christmas break if you can.  Just type 2014 Reith Lectures BBC into your search engine and you should get a result.  I am not technically savvy enough yet to work out how to add a hyperlink into my diary so I have made this feat one of my learning objectives for 2015 in between sleeps.

Speaking of which, how many more sleeps to Christmas Day? Four if I remember correctly.

About alangrenville

I live in southern Britain near the fabulous New Forest. While studying for a BSc in International Studies I have developed a strong belief in 'NIBAW' or 'nothing is black and white'. Hence my favourite saying "Too often we...enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought" (John F Kennedy).
This entry was posted in Personal, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

