Omar’s Diary Monday 22nd December 2014 – three sleeps to Christmas

image

It has been a difficult day today.  So difficult that no one has updated my profile picture.

When the lady servant is at home all day I can usually have her wrapped around my front paw.  A pathetic whine, an equally pathetic face and presto there is something placed in the feed bowl.  I stimulate a reaction and get rewarded.  Unlike Pavlov’s dogs who were rewarded with food for behaving in certain ways when stimulated.  Well really, dogs are not the most intelligent of creatures are they?

Things got even worse on the food front later this morning.  Normally I illicit a few biscuits from the lady servant but not today.  While man servant was working in the front bedroom he found a plastic contraption that you put kibble in, place it in front of the feline who is then supposed to play with it causing the bits of kibble to drop out ready to be eaten.  Both servants demonstrated how this was meant to work.  There was no need to as I knew exactly what the plastic container was for.  I am not stupid.  I was just not going to lower my self to play with this thing in order to get at some kibble. I would rather starve than be reduced to working for my food. The four snacks placed in there this morning are still in there tonight.  If the Chavs want to play with it then that is fine by me.  They can have it.

I saw the servants wrapping up Christmas presents tonight but I just could not see one that looked like a banana.  I hope I get a new one and have to get through three more sleeps to find out.

Both the servants met a lady over the weekend who has a five year old son and they talked to her about how he is coping with Christmas.  The lady said that she and her husband have managed to make the young boy understand that Christmas is not about ‘I want’ or ‘I would like’. It is about a little bit of that but more importantly thinking of what Christmas is really about.  It is a time for families and friends to get together in the warm to share food and company.

The lady finished work for Christmas yesterday, Sunday, and was going to spend time with her son helping him to make decorations for the house and the tree.  Red and green paper chains seemed to be favourites.  And bow tie pasta covered in sparkly colours strung on to some fishing line to wrap around the tree.  All simple but fun and something the young boy will hopefully remember for when he has children.

When the servants asked what the young boy had asked for as a Christmas present all he wanted was a pair of football slippers.  I wonder which team colours he wanted?

The servants have finished wrapping his father’s resents.  He has a big bag full of shirts, socks, a few books and some smelly stuff.  Sadly while the father was caring for his wife he really was not able to enjoy Christmas for at least four years.  This is his first Christmas without her and the worry of caring for her but I know that he would gladly swap all his presents the servants have bought him and more to have his beloved wife back.

About alangrenville

I live in southern Britain near the fabulous New Forest. While studying for a BSc in International Studies I have developed a strong belief in 'NIBAW' or 'nothing is black and white'. Hence my favourite saying "Too often we...enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought" (John F Kennedy).
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

