Omar’s Diary Saturday 27th December 2014 – Macchiavelli Mrs Brown and Ockhams Razor

image

Man servant and senior man servant went off for the day leaving me at home with lady servant and the two chavs.

Lady servant spent some time at her keyboard.  This gave me a great opportunity to hone my hunting skills by chasing her fingers as they hit the various keys. I biffed and baffed them a few times until lady servant lost her patience and removed me from the desk.  This is all part of my master plan. Usually when lady servant removes me from the desk I get fed as a distraction tactic.

While I waited by my bowl lady servant took a call on her mobile phone. She was on the phone for such a long time that I got bored and yes, went off to bed. When I woke up it was dark and not only had I missed my reward for bad behaviour I had missed my normal lunch feed as well.

Lady servant is a psychologist and I am not sure if I have been double bluffed here or not. I know my weight is under constant discussion and the phone call may not have been real.  It may have been part of a Macchiavelian manoeuvre forming part of a ‘Get Omars’s Weight Down’ plot. Or it may not be.

Bring on Ockham’s Razor.

William Ockham (1287 – 1347) developed the principle that there can either be a very simple or very complex reason for an event taking place.  In the absence of hard evidence to support a complex reason it is often the simplest explanation that supports the event.

So, lady servant probably just forgot to reward my bad behaviour while on the phone rather than scheming to get my weight down; I think.

I did get my supper just before the two male servants returned from their travels interrupting our viewing of ‘All Creatures Great and Small’ , the feature movie. I like vets  but only on TV.

Later in the evening Mrs Brown’s Boys was on TV. This programme contains what man servant calls ‘raw humour’ meaning bad language and smut.  He asked senior man servant if he was happy watching it as he is of the more puritanical generation when it comes to this sort of thing.

‘I’ll be fine’ senior man servant replied.

Ten minutes later senior man servant was laughing and smiling while there were a few tears running down his cheeks.  Mrs Brown was whipping some cream with a sex toy while talking to two priests in her kitchen.

While they were watching it I had just enough time to get comfortable on man servant’s bed.

He came up and there were no negotiations about moving me from dead centre near the pillows. I was unceremoniously picked up and placed further down the bed. This could have been part of an unfolding master plan to usurp my dominant male position in the house. Or, man servant may just have been very tired and wanted to get to bed?

About alangrenville

I live in southern Britain near the fabulous New Forest. While studying for a BSc in International Studies I have developed a strong belief in 'NIBAW' or 'nothing is black and white'. Hence my favourite saying "Too often we...enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought" (John F Kennedy).
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

