Omar’s Diary Tuesday 30th December 2014 – False Alarm, Model T Ford, National Motor Museum

 image

Yesterday morning lady and man servant had to have a very early start to the day. This morning they did not need such an early start but neither of them had switched off the alarm set for 0400. So, as the alarm went off very unexpectedly both of them struggled half awake in the half light to find the source of the most ghastly and irritating noise.

I did not know this was a false alarm at first but once I did I went into full mischief mode. Just as the servants settled down again I took a sniff of my catnip. Then I started to play on the floor of their bedroom with the hardest toy I could find to maximise noise levels. This did not seem to disturb them so I got bored. Next activity was pouncing on the bed and chasing their feet under the covers. Eventually man servant stirred and rewarded my behaviour with a sachet of food to keep me quiet. RESULT!

Man servant and senior man servant, whose bed I am still refusing to sleep on, went out for the day leaving lady servant working from home. I managed a bit of sport chasing her fingers over the keyboard and then flumping down on her papers flicking my tail across the computer screen. I was only trying to clean it but I don’t think lady servant saw it in the same way. I was picked up, placed on the floor and rewarded with a couple of bits of kibble. Another RESULT!

Man servant and senior man servant returned home in the late afternoon. They had made a visit to The National Motor Museum at Beaulieu here in Hampshire.

There is an age limit above which customers at this museum qualify for a ‘senior’s discount’, Senior man servant definitely qualifies. What came as a bit of a surprise to man servant was that he now also qualifies and this was the first time ever he has been able to take advantage of this type of discount. He must be starting to feel really old now.

Over cake and coffee at home senior man servant recounted how his grandfather in western Canada had bought a Model T Ford. He duly collected it from the showroom in Fairview, drove it home to proudly show it off to his family. The only problem was that the showroom had shown him how to start the car and drive it but no one had bothered to show him how to switch the engine off. Fortunately the family home had a circular driveway so great grandfather was able to drive the car in a circle until it ran out of gasoline.

1912-ford-model-t
I don’t think he paid £1.15 per litre for fuel back then.

About alangrenville

I live in southern Britain near the fabulous New Forest. While studying for a BSc in International Studies I have developed a strong belief in 'NIBAW' or 'nothing is black and white'. Hence my favourite saying "Too often we...enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought" (John F Kennedy).
This entry was posted in Personal, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

