Omar’s Diary – New Year’s Eve and New Year’s Day

 

image

Me trying to be serious and understand the world of servants

Had A great night last night.

No, I did not enter into any seasonal celebrations as servants sometimes do.  I had much more fun than that.  Man servant came up to bed before midnight.  He does tire easily these days and I think he is still recovering from receiving his first senior citizen discount the other day at The National Motor Museum.  My first bit of fun was blocking his bed and preventing him from going to bed on his terms.  I let him struggle with his urgings and then eventually conceded just enough territory for him to get under the duvet.

My second bit of fun was with lady servant.  An hour after the standoff with man servant I really, I believe the street term is ‘got in her face’.  I got so close I could press my damp cold nose against against hers.  I was swished away gently only to return.  This time a brushed my whiskers into her face repeatedly until I got got a result.

‘Omar, you are lovely but you can be such a little monster sometimes…..go to your end of the bed……look, here are some of your favourite biscuits,.

I did retreat and hunkered down for the rest of the night only to be disturbed by some fireworks going off about midnight. I really wish people who set these things off on nights other than Guy Fawkes would actually consider the effect they might have on animals like felines.  I was not too upset by most of them but there was one really unsociable loud one that shook me a bit.

After it exploded I could not help but think about conflict zones. Those poor people, and cats and other animals of course, who are trapped in those areas hearing and feeling explosions wondering if the next one will hit them.

New Year’s Eve is a time for reflection on the past. In my last twelve months I have been very fortunate to have been rehomed with my new servants.  They keep me well fed and warm. I certainly was not when I was rescued but I do not want to dwell on that part of my life too much now. It is past. Time to move on.

New Year’s Day is the time to look forward with hope.  So I wish and hope that all of you have good health and happiness for 2015.  I know man servant is hoping for Arsenal to end the season better than fifth in the Premiership. That misaligned hope was dashed earlier today when they got thumped two nil by Southampton. All I am hoping for is a new yellow banana. However, with my current servants there is even less chance of that happening than the price of crude oil hitting a $100 a barrel by 31st January 2015.

Happy New Year everyone!

About alangrenville

I live in southern Britain near the fabulous New Forest. While studying for a BSc in International Studies I have developed a strong belief in 'NIBAW' or 'nothing is black and white'. Hence my favourite saying "Too often we...enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought" (John F Kennedy).
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

