Omar’s Diary – Friday 9th January 2015 – stress, Necker Island, crises

image

Our branch of W H Smiths here in Ringwood did not have a copy of Charles Hebdo so man servant had to settle for the next best magazine.

Both servants were at home today, working, which was very nice. Goodness knows if and when they are going away again? And if they do I do worry about how they are ensuring that I and the Chavs will be looked after.  I will keep a wary watch between sleeps to see if the blue kit bag is brought in from the garage this weekend.

Unfortunately I managed to sleep through most of the day and as a result I think I must have missed out on a meal somewhere.  I am not particularly hungry, it is just that I am sure I have missed out somewhere.  I spent so much time sleeping that I did not even bother to get up and annoy the lady servant at her keyboard as this always results in me getting something to eat. I just do not know where the day has gone.

I did over hear the servants say that while they were away earlier this week that they watched a program about the super rich. The episode they saw was about Richard Branson’s Island in the British Virgin Islands. For those who move in the right circles they are referred to as the ‘BVI’ in much the same way as Kuala Lumpur, wherever that is, is referred to as ‘KL’ by world travellers. Anyway, from what the servants were saying it sounds like a very expensive place to go. Swanage sounds nicer and the holiday flats the servants are looking at are feline friendly.

The servants mentioned one guest on the island, Necker Island, who was a regular visitor who would escape their to get away from the stress of running a business in New York.

Stress! We never hear of say the President of France opting out during a crisis,such as the one France is going through this week, because of stress. Or about the police and military personnel who are in the frontline carrying out decisions made by their senior officers that are truly ‘life and death’.

My man servant always repeats the story of a racehorse trainer who said that training racehorses was a series of disasters and crises. However, due to the pressures of the job there was never time to dwell on one for too long.  Fix it, learn from it and move on as there was always another one looming on the horizon.  I guess that is what running a country is like.

Speaking of ‘crises’ and ‘stress’ I wonder when my next meal will be served? I just cannot afford to miss out on another one today.

About alangrenville

I live in southern Britain near the fabulous New Forest. While studying for a BSc in International Studies I have developed a strong belief in 'NIBAW' or 'nothing is black and white'. Hence my favourite saying "Too often we...enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought" (John F Kennedy).
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

