Early Morning across The New Forest

IMG_0595

Yesterday, Monday 28th March 2016, I knew from snatched sound bites on the radio that there had been a terrible bomb atrocity in Lahore.  This morning, while having an early breakfast at home, I saw the news showing grieving mothers, fathers and children preparing to bury the victims, mostly children, of that bombing.

The sunrise that is giving the night a bit of a bruising telling it to go away for a few hours was taken between Burley and Brockenhurst at 0645.  Two minutes later these colours had all disappeared.  The cattle are ‘Park Cattle’ which were once an endangered species throughout the UK.  Thanks to the work of a proactive breed society their numbers have made a comeback and they can roam free across the open heathland of the New Forest here in Hampshire. With their white fur and black noses they look more like they should be in the Asian sub-continent rather than the New Forest.

Park Cattle editied

These pictures were taken on a drive to Brockenhurst to put my wife on a train.  Every time I do this journey and see views and sights like these that contrast so starkly with images of violence and destruction from other parts of the world. I count myself very fortunate.  Fortunate in that I have these sights on my doorstep.  Fortunate that I have the time to be able to stop and enjoy them.  But most fortunate in that I can do all this in the knowledge that the home I left for possibly an hour will be in one piece when I return and that my friends and family are safe.

About alangrenville

I live in southern Britain near the fabulous New Forest. While studying for a BSc in International Studies I have developed a strong belief in 'NIBAW' or 'nothing is black and white'. Hence my favourite saying "Too often we...enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought" (John F Kennedy).
This entry was posted in Personal, Unseen Britain and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

