Three Trees

3 trees spot edited

I see these trees every time I drive past Burley Golf Course in The New Forest and this picture was one of the first ones I ever took with a 35ml Minolta.

These trees have always held a fascination for me. Why are they where they are? Were they planted as part of a plan to make a marker for golfers teeing off on a dog legged hole? Are they a memorial to a deceased member of the golf club planted by a grieving widow? Or, are they there just because they are? An accident of nature caused by seeds falling from a passing bird’s feet years and years ago? Or grown from the droppings from a passing deer or New Forest pony?

They hold an additional memory for me as the day I walked from the car to take this picture I felt a shortness of breath and just assumed it was because I was unfit. The next day I was admitted to hospital with pneumonia which I remember every time I go past these three trees.  My wife and I call them the Pleurisy Three.

Even in full daylight when these three trees should be variegated shades of dark coniferous green and the bark a deeply channelled brown I can never see those natural colours. They are always black and white.

About alangrenville

I live in southern Britain near the fabulous New Forest. While studying for a BSc in International Studies I have developed a strong belief in 'NIBAW' or 'nothing is black and white'. Hence my favourite saying "Too often we...enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought" (John F Kennedy).
This entry was posted in Personal, Travel, Uncategorized, Unseen Britain and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

