Online rail fares in the UK

This is a bit of a rant I am afraid.

A few minutes ago I searched on the National Rail website here in the UK for a single fare from Brockenhurst to Scarborough leaving at 0841 on the 16th August.  The fare quoted was £75.50 as a special offer.

The site kept wanting to sell me a return which I did not need so to break the cycle I left the site and returned.  When I entered the journey details again the only fare offered was £142.90.

This makes me cynical enough to think that there is an algorithm built into the National Rail site that recognises the enquirer and once they come back to, if they have to, to book a fare it bumps the price up.  This is the second time this has happened to me recently.

Yet when my wife logged in to a rail travel booking system the fare that was offered for exactly the same journey was £92.90 so my suspicions have been aroused even further.

I know there was a report earlier this year  that confirmed that the ticket prices from machines at stations never offered the best fares available.  I hope someone in the media picks up on this issue with online booking as well.

Rant over and I hope everyone has a good week.

About alangrenville

I live in southern Britain near the fabulous New Forest. While studying for a BSc in International Studies I have developed a strong belief in 'NIBAW' or 'nothing is black and white'. Hence my favourite saying "Too often we...enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought" (John F Kennedy).
This entry was posted in Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

