Learning to Speak American in Bath

image

While I was exploring Bath I found this book on a bench facing towards The Royal Crescent.

The lawns between me and the esplanade of houses were dotted with visitors from the Far East.  On seeing the title quickly I thought it must have been a language book left accidentally on the seat by a tourist hoping to understand the vagaries and nuances of our rich language now so strongly influenced from around the world.  Alas no, it is a fictional story.

This morning when I checked out of the Premier Inn in central Bath I left this book on a table in the lobby where guests can leave or take books from.  In the book I have put a small note explaining how it arrived at the hotel and asking anyone who reads it to post a comment on this article on WordPress and say how far it has travelled.

About alangrenville

I live in southern Britain near the fabulous New Forest. While studying for a BSc in International Studies I have developed a strong belief in 'NIBAW' or 'nothing is black and white'. Hence my favourite saying "Too often we...enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought" (John F Kennedy).
This entry was posted in Book Review, Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

